Biafra: South East leaders demand release of Nnamdi Kanu, Calls for Referendum


Majority of Igbo leaders have demanded the unconditional release of the leader of Indigenous People Of Biafra, Mazi Nnamdi Kanu.

Biafra: South East leaders demand release of Nnamdi Kanu, Calls for Referendum
Nnamdi Kanu

Today, a former governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Charles Soludo, who paid a visit to Kuje prison where Mazi Kanu has been detained, described the continued detention of Mr. Kanu as unacceptable and an abuse of Mr. Kanu’s right to ‘legitimate agitation”.

Mr. Soludo was in the company of other Igbo leaders including former presidential aide, Pat Utomi, and former head of Nigeria’s electricity regulator, Sam Amadi.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

The former bank chief said Nigeria cannot thrive in an atmosphere devoid of the “democratic freedom of speech”.

ALSO READ:   God is not happy with Buhari, he is incompetent, clueless – Says Fayose

The leaders also condemned the failure of the federal government and its security agencies to obey court rulings, saying the “plan by government to only obey favourable court rulings” is unhealthy for the peace of Nigeria.

Mazi. Kanu, whose group is calling for an independent Igbo country of Biafra, is being prosecuted for treason by the Nigeria government.

In the same vein, Tony Nnadi, the secretary general of the Lower Niger Congress who was part of the visit told newsmen that the group will work with all aggrieved Igbo groups.

Nnadi said: “We have announced a process, on January 1, 2017, the LNC rolled out a registration of three million volunteers who want a referendum.”

ALSO READ:   Biafra: Okorocha bombs Nnamdi Kanu

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

The matter now is how to put a date for the referendum and go to vote.”

Below is a full list of the delegation:

1. Chukwuma Soludo – Former CBN governor

2. Pat Utomi – Renowned economist

3. Tony Nnadi – Secretary general of LNC

4. Udenta Udenta – National secretary of Alliance Democracy

5. Emeka Ugwuoju – Chairman South-east, South-south professionals

6. Collins Ugwu

7. Law Mefor

8. Ferdinand Agu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here